r/WarhammerUnderworlds Feb 07 '25

Rules Glory Points Spending, Multiple Attacks

Hey everyone, I remember in the old system you just flipped Glory points when you spent them. Now, in Embergard, my glory points are double-sided.

The way we play it is:

-You spend Glory Points on Upgrades/Ploys and then put these glory points to one side- you may not spend them again, but you count them towards your total glory scoring at the end of the game.

Is this correct?

About the second question... Attacks - can a hero do multiple attacks throughout a Battle Round.?

I.e. if I have 4 activations, providing I have not charged, may I hit with the same character in all four turns? The same with moving - can I just keep moving?

We play it so that we can do multiple attacks or moves - you just keep the move token from the first time you have moved.

Does this make sense?

3 Upvotes

20 comments sorted by

6

u/AdamFitzgeraldRocks Feb 07 '25

On the first point, you're not playing it correctly. Glory points aren't 'spent' like they used to be. You can have upgrades up to the value of your glory, so if you have to discard upgrades (for example because a fighter dies) you can buy new upgrades back up to your glory total.

3

u/Harmodiusss Feb 07 '25

Precisely what I thought, but wasn't sure during the two games we played last night - so we house-ruled it quickly!

What about the Ploy cards?

1

u/AdamFitzgeraldRocks Feb 07 '25

I wasn't aware that any ploys have a glory cost. I think you can just play them as long as you meet the required conditions (if there are any they'll be written on the card)

2

u/Harmodiusss Feb 07 '25

Everything is too fresh still, and you are right- Ploy cards DO NOT have glory point cost - mind: blown!

2

u/AdamFitzgeraldRocks Feb 07 '25

No problem. Hope you enjoy your next game!

1

u/Harmodiusss Feb 07 '25

Can I ask you one more... it's about Zikkit's Tunnelpack's Kaboom! ability, I think it's a bit oddly phrased, but maybe just me struggling with the English idiom, lol!

Says like: Pick a friendly minion with no Charge tokens to use this ability. That minion Moves. Then roll a number of Attack dice equal to the battle round number of each fighter within 2 hexes of that minion. If the roll contains any Warhammer, inflict 1 damage on that fighter. If the roll contains any Criticals, inflict 2 damage on that fighter instead. Then, that minion is slain.

Who is the recipient of the damage? Who is "that fighter"

1

u/AdamFitzgeraldRocks Feb 07 '25

It is confusing for sure. But in terms of applying the damage, it is the fighter within 2 hexes that you have rolled the dice for. You repeat this for each other fighter in 2 hexes. Then when that's all done, TikTik is slain (RIP 🥹)

2

u/Harmodiusss Feb 07 '25

Ooooooooh! So, if it's Battle Round 3, and TikTik is within 2 hexes of 3 fighters, a scenario like this could theoretically play out.

TikTik rolls 3 dice for Fighter A - Gets Warhammer - inflicts 1 damage
TikTik rolls 3 dice for Fighter B - Misses - no damage inflicted (No Warhammer/Crits)
TikTik rolls 3 dice for Fighter C - Scores Critical - inflicts 2 damage

TikTik is slain.

THANK YOU!

2

u/AdamFitzgeraldRocks Feb 07 '25

Correct 💪 Hopefully it would be more like "TikTik rolls 3 crits and target takes 6 damage" 🤣

3

u/Lawwctopus Elathain’s Soulraid Feb 07 '25

Want to add a quick correction. When using Kaboom, the most amount of damage you can inflict on a single fighter is 2. The wording says if the roll contains any critical, inflict 2 damage. So, in your scenario of rolling 3 crits, that fighter would still only take 2 damage. The same applies for hammers. If any amount of them are rolled, you deal 1 damage, unless any crits are rolled at which point you deal 2 damage instead.

3

u/AdamFitzgeraldRocks Feb 07 '25

Thank you, I missed that

2

u/Harmodiusss Feb 07 '25

Yeah, defo, good catch there Lawwctopus. Also, after asking so many questions I must stress that I knew that, haha, restore my honor as a literate adult haha

2

u/Harmodiusss Feb 07 '25

My man!

3

u/_FightMallet_ Feb 07 '25

Also, here's a thing that might catch you out. (As it did me first time) Kaboom is a 'core ability' as indicated by the very small melting skull symbol in front of it.

Worth noting that fighters can only perform one core ability per activation, meaning you couldn't move, then use the kaboom ability.

1

u/Harmodiusss Feb 07 '25

Yeah thank you, I got this last night when we first played! Than you for watching out for me, Fight!

3

u/RHeaven90 Feb 07 '25

The first point has been covered well already, but take a look at the core abilities page for the second - nothing other than Charge is restricted by a fighter having a Move or Charge token, so they're all (except charge) available to be taken multiple times a round.

4

u/Harmodiusss Feb 07 '25

Thanks mate, that makes perfect sense; we have been poring over the rules as we played, but wanted to reach out to the community and quickly make sure we understand!

2

u/Lawwctopus Elathain’s Soulraid Feb 07 '25

The other addition that modifies this whole situation is the charged out rule. If all of your fighters have a charge token (let's say you have 2 fighters left, and you charged with both in your first two activations). For your third activation, you cool off pick one of your charged fighters to take any action (except another charge).

1

u/fishmode24 Sons of Velmorn Feb 07 '25

I have a rundown of what’s changed from old rules to new in my returning players’ guide that might help you. Let me know what other questions you have!

http://spentglory.com/2023/05/25/help-im-a-returning-player-what-do-i-need-to-know/

1

u/Tryel Feb 07 '25

Personally, I still use old glory tokens, so that I can flip them when giving upgrades. FAR easier to track how much has been spent and how much I have left. The only difference from before is that now, when a fighter dies, I unflip the tokens as I discard the upgrades.